Utah’s Wishnowsky wins 2016 Ray Guy Award

by / Monday, 12 December 2016 / Published in Ray Guy Award

Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky averaged 48 yards per punt in 2016, earning the Ray Guy Award. (Photo via University of Utah)

Mitch Wishnowsky

Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky is the 2016 Ray Guy Award winner. (Photo via University of Utah)

Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky won the Ray Guy Award as the nation’s top punter Thursday night at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show in Atlanta.

Wishnowsky said it was “like unbelievable” and “a great feeling” to receive the accolade.

“It’s a great honor for Mitch, well-deserved,” said Utah coach Kyle Whittingham, who accompanied Wishnowsky to the gathering at the College Football Hall of Fame. “The statistics that he put up this year were incredible and like I’ve said, there’s no doubt in my mind that he deserved it.”

Wishnowsky is second in the nation with 48 yards per punt. He’s first or tied for first in punts inside the 20-yard line (34), punts of 50 yards or greater (28) and punts inside the 10-yard line (17).

Utah is No. 1 in the country in net punting (44.9 yards).

The sophomore follows in the footsteps of former Ute and fellow Australian Tom Hackett, who won the Ray Guy Award in both 2014 and 2015.

“That’s a pretty good run,” Whittingham said. “Tommy Hackett did such as a great job for us then the torch was passed to Mitch and we just haven’t missed a beat. It’s been a great run of punters for the University of Utah.”

Same goes for punters from Australia. The other two Ray Guy Award finalists this year — Michael Dickson of Texas and Cameron Johnston of Ohio State — are also from Down Under.

After receiving the Ray Guy Award, Wishnowsky had kind things to say about both punters. Wishnowsky also had praise for Utah snapper Chase Dominguez, noting he needs a shout out.

“He’s snapped to Tom the last two years and me this year,” Wishnowsky said to ESPN host Chris Fowler. “There’s no snapper award, but I’m nominating Chase for one.”

The above story excerpt is from deseretnews.com, Dec. 8, 2016

2016 Ray Guy Award Finalists: 

  • Michael Dickson (So.), University of Texas
  • Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State University
  • Mitch Wishnowsky (So.), University of Utah

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.