Texas Punter Michael Dickson wins 2017 Ray Guy Award

by / Monday, 11 December 2017 / Published in Ray Guy Award

Augusta, GA (December 7, 2017) – The Augusta Sports Council is pleased to announce Michael Dickson of the University of Texas as the 2017 Ray Guy Award winner. The Ray Guy Award is presented to the top collegiate punter in the nation. Dickson was chosen from a field of 3 finalists including himself, JK Scott from the University of Alabama and Mitch Wishnowsky from the University of Utah. The winner was determined by the Ray Guy Award national voting body which consists of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, national media and previous Ray Guy Award winners. The 2017 Ray Guy Award winner was announced live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia on Thursday, December 7th at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show presented by GILDAN on ESPN.

Michael Dickson has been a stand out all season long. He was named the 2017 Big 12 Conference Special Teams Player of the year, 2017 First Team All-Big 12 Punter, 2017 Academic All-Big 12 First Team and was our Punter of the Week during week 5 and 7 games. He became the first-ever finalist for the award from the University of Texas last year. Dickson is from Sydney, Australia and is a Junior at Texas.

The Ray Guy Award provided one vote as determined by football fans. The Fan Vote was equivalent to one national selection committee member’s vote. The finalist fan vote winner was JK Scott of the University of Alabama.

Congratulations to all three of the 2017 finalists. They encompass skills on and off the field that represent Ray Guy and the award in the best light. Michael Dickson will receive additional recognition during the football banquet held by the Augusta Sports Council in January 2018 in Augusta, GA.

About the Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

About the Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit www.augustasportscouncil.org.

About the National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 22 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.