Ray Guy Award semifinalists announced

by / Tuesday, 18 November 2014 / Published in Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. – The Augusta Sports Council and Ray Guy Award committee have announced 10 semifinalists for the 2014 Ray Guy Award.

The semifinalists for the award – given to the most outstanding punter in college football – were chosen from a field of 82 candidates.

Returning to the field is 2013 finalist Drew Kaser of Texas A&M along with several of the season’s Ray Guy Award Players of the Week, including JK Scott, Scott Arellano, Austin Rehkow and Tom Hackett.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punters’ net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on Nov. 24. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

2014 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

• JK Scott (Fr.), Alabama

• Scott Arellano (Sr.), BYU

• Scott Harding (Sr.), Hawaii

• Austin Rehkow (So.), Idaho

• Justin Vogel (So.), Miami

• Tyler Wedel (Sr.), Northern Illinois

• Cameron Johnston (So.), Ohio State

• Drew Kaser (Jr.), Texas A&M

• Tom Hackett (Jr.), Utah

• Alex Kinal (Jr.), Wake Forest

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Dec. 11 at 7:30 p.m ET on ESPN. The show will feature the live presentations of nine player awards and the Walter Camp All-America Team.