Ray Guy Award semifinalists announced

by / Friday, 13 November 2015 / Published in News, Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council and the Ray Guy Award committee announce the ten semifinalists for the 2015 Ray Guy Award.

The semifinalists were chosen from a field of 79 candidates for the award, which recognizes the most outstanding punter in college football. Returning to the field is 2014 winner Tom Hackett of Utah along with several of the season’s Ray Guy Award Players of the Week including Alex Kinal, Riley Dixon, Hayden Hunt and Drew Kaser.

The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned. A national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners will decide the three award finalists, who will be announced on November 24. Voters will then cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner.

2015 Ray Guy Award Semifinalists

  • Michael Carrizosa (So.), San Jose State
  • Riley Dixon (Sr.), Syracuse
  • Tom Hackett (Sr.), Utah
  • Hayden Hunt (Jr.), Colorado State
  • Cameron Johnston (Jr.), Ohio State
  • Drew Kaser (Sr.), Texas A&M
  • Alex Kinal (Sr.), Wake Forest
  • Nick Porebski (So.), Oregon State
  • Austin Seibert (Fr.), Oklahoma
  • Johnny Townsend (So.), Florida

The presentation of the Ray Guy Award will be featured on The Home Depot College Football Awards live on Thursday, December 10 at 7 pm ET on ESPN. The show will feature a live presentation of nine player awards, along the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award, and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.