Ray Guy Award finalists announced

by / Wednesday, 26 November 2014 / Published in News, Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council has announced three finalists for the 2014 Ray Guy Award. All three are first-time finalists for the annual award.

The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to the team. Particular emphasis was placed on the punter’s net average, percentage of total punts inside the 20-yard line and percentage of punts not returned.

2014 Ray Guy Award Finalists
JK Scott (Fr.) — Alabama
Austin Rehkow (So.) — Idaho
Tom Hackett (Jr.) — Utah

This year’s Ray Guy Award winner will be revealed on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing live from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort on Dec. 11 at 7:00 p.m. (ET).