Nevada’s Tenpenny Player of the Week

by / Wednesday, 30 October 2013 / Published in Ray Guy Award
Nevada's Chase Tenpenny is the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week.

Nevada’s Chase Tenpenny is the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week.

The Augusta Sports Council and Ray Guy Award are proud to announce Chase Tenpenny, University of Nevada, as the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week.

Tenpenny had six punts with 329 yards, averaging 54.8 yards per punt in the game versus UNLV over the weekend. He had six punts with two marked inside the 20-yard line and two touchbacks. Tenpenny’s longest punt was 68 yards and had a net average of 47.3 yards.

The Augusta Sports Council presents the Ray Guy Award, given to the collegiate punter of the year at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN in Orlando, FL. The Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List was announced on July 10, 2013 with nominations open until October 21, 2013.

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardag punted, average returned yardage, and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Leave a Reply