Hackett named Ray Guy Award winner

by / Saturday, 27 December 2014 / Published in News, Ray Guy Award
Utah's Tom Hackett is the 2014 Ray Guy Award winner.

Utah’s Tom Hackett is the 2014 Ray Guy Award winner.

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council and Ray Guy Award are proud to announce Tom Hackett, University of Utah, as the Ray Guy Award winner for 2014.

Hackett becomes the first Utah player to win an award presented by the National College Football Awards Association, which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.

Hackett, who was also named a first-team Walter Camp All-American, leads the nation in punts inside the 20 (35) and 10 (19) yard lines and ranks second nationally in punt average (47.0). The two-time All-Pac-12 punter has put 35-of-77 (45.5%) punts inside the 20 this season, a percentage that leads the Pac-12.

Hackett is second in the nation with a school-record 3,619 punt yards and second in the conference in punts of 50+ yards (25). Utah is third in the nation in net punting (42.81).

Hackett was named the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week three times this year: vs. Fresno State, UCLA and Stanford. He earned Pac-12 Player of the Week honors against Colorado.

The other finalists for the Ray Guy Award were Alabama freshman JK Scott and Idaho sophomore Austin Rehkow.

Hackett was one of ten Ray Guy Award semifinalists. H was also on the 2014 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List announced in July.

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.