Augusta Sports Council Announces 2017 Ray Guy Award 3 Finalists

by / Monday, 20 November 2017 / Published in Ray Guy Award

Augusta, GA (November 20, 2017) – The Augusta Sports Council is pleased to announce the 3 finalists for the 2017 Ray Guy Award. The Ray Guy Award is presented to the top collegiate punter in the nation. The finalists were chosen from a field of 10 semifinalists by the Ray Guy Award national voting body which consists of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, national media and previous Ray Guy Award winners.

Voters will now have the chance to vote to determine the winner through December 1st. The 2017 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live from the College Football Hall of Fame in Atlanta, Georgia on Thursday, December 7th at The Home Depot College Football Awards Show presented by GILDAN on ESPN.

New this year, the Ray Guy Award will provide one vote as determined by football fans. The Fan Vote is located on the Ray Guy Award website and will be equivalent to one national selection committee member’s vote. The semifinalist fan vote winner was Michael Dickson of the University of Texas. The vote will re-open on November 21, 2017 for fans to be included for the selection of the winner.

2017 Ray Guy Award Finalists (listed alphabetically):

Dickson, Michael – University of Texas
Scott, JK – University of Alabama
Wishnowsky, Mitch – University of Utah

Ray Guy Award Timeline
Monday, October 30 12 p.m. ET – Nomination Forms Due
Tuesday, October 31 – Final Candidate List announced
Thursday, November 16 – Semifinalists Announced
Tuesday, November 20 – Three Finalists Announced
Thursday, December 7 – The Home Depot College Football Awards Show (Atlanta, GA)
January 2018 – All-Area Football Banquet (Augusta, GA)

About the Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

About the Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit

About the National College Football Awards Association
The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 22 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit to learn more about our story.