Announcing Player of the Week award

by / Friday, 13 September 2013 / Published in Ray Guy Award

rayguyaward_2The Augusta Sports Council and the Ray Guy Award have announced the creation of the Ray Guy Award Player of the Week.

The newly created award will track players on the Ray Guy Award watch list and recognized the top punter in the country based on game-by-game performances each week.

Louisiana Tech’s Ryan Allen was the 2012 and 2011 Ray Guy Award winner.

Allen won the punter’s job in an open competition with the New England Patriots this preseason.

Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia, native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy.

The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, college coaches, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times a punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website,

Leave a Reply