Ray Guy Award information

rayguyaward_2Ray Guy Award

The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia, native and College Football Hall of Fame inductee Ray Guy.

The Ray Guy Award winner is determined by a national voting body of sports writers, sports information directors and past Ray Guy Award winners.

Over 20 statistical categories are reviewed, compared, discussed and deliberated for each nominee. Particular emphasis is placed on net punting average, percent of punts not returned, number of punts and percent of punts downed inside the 20 yard line.

The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline, and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

2017 Dates

July 12 – Preseason watch list announced
Oct. 31 – Final candidate list announced
Nov. 16 – Semifinalists announced
Nov. 21 – Finalists announced
Dec. 7 – Winner announced

January 2018 – All-Area Football Banquet

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.

guyhall-072816Ray Guy’s Induction into Pro Football Hall of Fame

Ray Guy was inducted on August 2, 2014 in Canton, Ohio. In 1973, Guy was the first punter to ever be selected in the first round of the NFL draft and is considered to be the greatest punter of all time. He played 14 seasons, averaged 42.4 career punting, selected to 6 All-Pro Bowls, and 7 Pro Bowls.

Did you know?

  • While playing at Southern Mississippi, he kicked a 93-yard punt!
  • He was named the MVP of the 1973 Chicago College All-Star game
  • Guy played in 207 consecutive professional football games
  • During his profession career, only 3 of 1,049 punts were blocked, and held a 691 consecutive streak before having one punt blocked
  • In 1976, he hit the scoreboard of the Louisiana Superdome scoreboard during the Pro Bowl
  • Known for the amount of time his punts stayed in the air, the statistic for hang-time was instituted in the NFL during his career
  • NFL historian for the Hall of Fame once said about Guy, “He’s the first punter you could look at and say, he won games.”