2017 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List

by / Wednesday, 12 July 2017 / Published in Ray Guy Award

2016 Ray Guy Award winner – Mitch Wishnowsky – University of Utah

Augusta Sports Council Announces 2017 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List 

Augusta, GA (July 12, 2017) – The Augusta Sports Council has announced the pre-season watch list for the 2017 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

The 29 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters. 2016 finalists, Michael Dickson (Texas) and Mitch Wishnowsky (Utah) – our 2016 winner, have returned to the list. Returning semifinalists include Joseph Davidson (Bowling Green), Johnny Townsend (Florida) and Zach Sinor (Oklahoma State).

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on October 31. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on November 16. A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists to be announced on November 21. After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 7, 2017.

2017 Ray Guy Award Pre-Season Watch List:

  • Derek Adams (So.), Kent State
  • Jake Bailey (Jr.), Stanford,
  • Matt Bonadies (Jr.), Middle Tennessee
  • Bailey Cate (So.), Old Dominion
  • A.J. Cole III (Jr.), North Carolina State
  • Jake Collins (RS Jr.), WKU
  • Logan Cooke (Sr.), Mississippi State
  • Steven Coutts (So.), California
  • Trevor Daniel (RS Sr.), Tennessee
  • Joseph Davidson (RS Sr.), Bowling Green
  • Michael Dickson (Jr.), Texas
  • Colin Downing (Sr.), Iowa State
  • Corey Fatony (Jr.), Missouri
  • Blake Gillikin (So.), Penn State
  • Jonathan Hernandez (Sr.), USF
  • Logan Laurent (RS Sr.), Massachusetts
  • Wade Lees (So.), Maryland
  • Johnny Linehan (Sr.), BYU
  • Adam Nunez (So.), TCU
  • Nick Porebski (Sr.), Oregon State
  • JK Scott (Sr.), Alabama
  • Austin Seibert (Jr.), Oklahoma
  • Tom Sheldon (So.), North Carolina
  • Zach Sinor (RS Jr.), Oklahoma State
  • Spencer Smith (RS Sr.), Memphis
  • Chris Tilbey (RS Jr.), USC
  • Johnny Townsend (RS Sr.), Florida
  • Shane Tripucka (Sr.), Texas A&M
  • Mitch Wishnowsky (Jr.), Utah

About the Ray Guy Award
The Augusta Sports Council created the Ray Guy Award in 2000 to honor Thomson, Georgia native and College and Pro Football Hall of Fame inductee, Ray Guy. Among the statistics used to identify the winner is net punting average, number of times punt is downed or kicked out of bounds inside the opponents 20-yard line, total yardage punted, average returned yardage and percentage of punts not returned with particular emphasis placed on net punting average. The winner must display team leadership, self-discipline and have a positive impact on the team’s success.

About the Augusta Sports Council
The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) enriches the quality of life and economic well-being for the Augusta metropolitan area by supporting and attracting sporting activities. To learn more, visit www.augustasportscouncil.org.

About the National College Football Awards Association

The Ray Guy Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses college football’s most prestigious awards. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 22 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

The members of the NCFAA are unveiling their preseason watch lists over a two-week period this month. Sixteen of the association’s 23 awards select a preseason watch list and the NCFAA has spearheaded a coordinated effort to promote each award’s preseason candidates. Following is the complete 2017 preseason watch list calendar:

Monday, July 10: Maxwell Award / Bednarik Award
Tuesday, July 11: Mackey  Award / Rimington Trophy
Wednesday, July 12: Lou Groza Award / Ray Guy Award
Thursday, July 13: Outland Trophy / Bronko Nagurski Trophy
Friday, July 14: Jim Thorpe Award
Monday, July 17: Butkus Award / Hornung Award
Tuesday, July 18: Wuerffel Trophy / Biletnikoff Award
Wednesday, July 19: Davey O’Brien Award
Thursday, July 20: Doak Walker Award
Friday, July 21: Walter Camp Award

Tagged under: , , , , , , , , , ,