2016 Ray Guy Award finalists announced

by / Monday, 21 November 2016 / Published in Ray Guy Award
Award finalists xxxxx

Ray Guy Award finalists are, from left, Ohio State’s Cameron Johnston, Texas’ Michael Dickson and Utah’s Mitch Wishnowsky.

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council and Ray Guy Award are proud to announce the three finalists for the 2016 Ray Guy Award.

The finalists were selected by a national voting body of Football Bowling Subdivision (FBS) coaches, sports information directors, national media and former Ray Guy Award winners. The voters will cast a second round of ballots to decide the winner. The candidates were evaluated on their overall statistics and contribution to their team.

Particular emphasis was placed on net average, percentage of punts inside the 20-yard line, percentage of punts not returned and number of punts.

The 2016 Ray Guy Award recipient will be announced live December 8 at the The Home Depot College Football Awards on ESPN in Atlanta, Georgia.

2016 Ray Guy Award Finalists: 

  • Michael Dickson (So.), University of Texas
  • Cameron Johnston (Sr.), Ohio State University
  • Mitch Wishnowsky (So.), University of Utah

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.