2016 Ray Guy Award candidates announced

by / Monday, 31 October 2016 / Published in Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council has released the complete list of candidates for the 2016 Ray Guy Award. The Ray Guy Award identifies the nation’s top collegiate punter at the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards every year in December. Among the 66 candidates are two of the 2015 finalists, Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State, and Hayden Hunt, Colorado State. Candidates on the 2016 list were nominated for the award by their school’s Sports Information Departments.

The following list will be narrowed down to 10 semifinalists to be announced on Friday, November 11. Following the announcement, a national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) Sports Information Directors, coaches, media representatives and previous Ray Guy Award winners will vote for the three finalists who will be identified on Tuesday, November 22. The voting body will then cast ballots to select the winner. The 2016 Ray Guy Award winner will be announced live on ESPN during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, December 8.

2016 Ray Guy Award Candidates

  • JK Scott, Alabama
  • Matt Haack, Arizona State
  • Toby Baker, Arkansas
  • Drew Galitz, Baylor
  • Sean Wale, Boise State
  • Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green
  • Jonny Linehan, Brigham Young
  • Kyle DeWeen, Buffalo
  • Dylan Klumph, California
  • Hayden Hunt, Colorado State
  • Worth Gregory, East Carolina
  • Austin Barnes, Eastern Michigan
  • Stone Wilson, FIU
  • Johnny Townsend, Florida
  • Dalton Schomp, Florida Atlantic
  • Rigoberto Sanchez, Hawaii
  • Austin Rehkow, Idaho
  • Colin Downing, Iowa State
  • Cole Moos, Kansas
  • Derek Adams, Kent State
  • Grant McKinniss, Kentucky
  • Steven Coutts, Louisiana-Lafayette
  • Wade Lees, Maryland
  • Logan Laurent, Massachusetts
  • Spencer Smith, Memphis
  • Paul Justin Vogel, Miami
  • Kenny Allen, Michigan
  • Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee
  • Ryan Santoso, Minnesota
  • Logan Cooke, Mississippi State
  • Corey Fatony, Missouri
  • Alex Barta, Navy
  • Alfred James Cole, III, NC State
  • Tom Sheldon, North Carolina
  • Eric Keena, North Texas
  • Hunter Niswander, Northwestern
  • Cameron Johnston, Ohio State
  • Austin Seibert, Oklahoma
  • Zach Sinor, Oklahoma State
  • Bailey Cate, Old Dominion
  • Nick Porebski, Oregon State
  • Blake Gillikin, Penn State
  • Ryan Henry Winslow, Pittsburgh
  • Jack Fox, Rice
  • Tanner Blain, San Diego State
  • Michael Carrizosa, San Jose State
  • Sean Kelly, South Carolina
  • Jonathan Hernandez, South Florida
  • Jake Bailey, Stanford
  • Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse
  • Adam Nunez, TCU
  • Alex Starzyk, Temple
  • Trevor Daniel, Tennessee
  • Michael Dickson, Texas
  • Shane Tripucka, Texas A&M
  • Lumi Kaba, Texas State
  • Justin Wain, Connecticut
  • Caleb Houston, UCF
  • Chris Tilbey, USC
  • Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah
  • Aaron Dalton, Utah State
  • Alex Luna, UTEP
  • Nicholas Conte, Virginia
  • Billy Kinney, West Virginia
  • Jake Collins, WKU
  • Ethan Wood, Wyoming

Augusta Sports Council

asc_logo_1The Augusta Sports Council (ASC) is a non-profit organization dedicated to marketing the Augusta area as a destination for amateur sporting events. The ASC attracts, creates and supports dozens of sporting events and activities each year, generating a positive economic impact and enhancing the quality of life for residents of the greater Augusta community.

To learn more, visit AugustaSportsCouncil.org.

National College Football Awards Association

ncfaalogoThe Ray Guy Award is recognized by the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients.

For more information, visit the association’s official website, ncfaa.org.