2015 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List Announced

by / Thursday, 09 July 2015 / Published in News, Ray Guy Award

AUGUSTA, Ga. — The Augusta Sports Council has announced the preseason watch list for the 2015 Ray Guy Award, which honors the nation’s top collegiate punter.

The 25 candidates on the list incorporate a broad spectrum of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) punters.

Tom Hackett (Utah), winner of the 2014 Ray Guy Award, returns to the list along with finalists, Austin Rehkow (Idaho) and JK Scott (Alabama). Returning semifinalists include Cameron Johnston (Ohio State), Drew Kaser (Texas A&M), Alex Kinal (Wake Forest), and Justin Vogel (Miami).

The number of eligible candidates for this season will grow when the award opens for nominations in September. The complete list of candidates will be released on Oct. 30. In early November, the Ray Guy Award committee will meet to select the ten semifinalists, who will be announced on Nov. 13.

A national body of Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) sports information directors, coaches, media representatives, and previous Ray Guy Award winners will then vote for the top three finalists, to be announced on Nov. 23.

After the finalists are named, the voting body will cast ballots again to select the nation’s top punter. The winner will be announced live during The Home Depot College Football Awards airing on ESPN on Thursday, December 10, 2015.

The 25 punters on the 2015 Ray Guy Award Preseason Watch List:

• Devon Bell (Sr.), Mississippi State

• Mattias Ciabatti (Sr.), South Florida

• Korey Durkee (Sr.), Washington

• Luke Ferguson (Sr.), Arkansas State

• Will Gleeson (So.), Ole Miss

• Tyler Grassman (Sr.), Buffalo

• Tom Hackett (Sr.), Utah

• Hayden Hunt (Jr.), Colorado State

• Cameron Johnston (Jr.), Ohio State

• Drew Kaser (Sr.), Texas A&M

• Jamie Keehn (Sr.), LSU

• Alex Kinal (Sr.), Wake Forest

• Anthony Melchiori (Sr.), Kent State

• Will Monday (Sr.), Duke

• Peter Mortell (Sr.), Minnesota

• Dalton Parks (Jr.), Tulsa

• Austin Rehkow (Jr.), Idaho

• Drew Riggleman (Sr.), Arizona

• Dalton Schomp (Jr.), FAU

• J Schroeder (Sr.), Western Michigan

• JK Scott (So.), Alabama

• Taylor Symmank (Sr.), Texas Tech

• Alex Tardieu (Sr.), Army

• Justin Vogel (Jr.), Miami

• Logan Yunker (Sr.), UNLV